Manon Lescaut by Giacomo Puccini
New production by Opera Holland Park, with the City of London Sinfonia and the Opera Holland Park Chorus, sponsored by Viking Cruises
4, 7, 11, 13, 15, 18, 20, 22 June

Our season opener, Manon Lescaut, sponsored by Viking Cruises, features British lyric soprano Elizabeth Llewellyn, last seen at OHP as Magda in our 2017 production of La rondine, in the title role. The role of Lescaut will be sung by Welsh bass-baritone Paul Carey Jones, making his OHP debut.
Peter Robinson returns to OHP to conduct the production, which will be directed by Karolina Sofulak and designed by George Leigh, the winners of the 10th European Opera Directing Prize.

Conductor Peter Robinson
Director Karolina Sofulak
Designer George Leigh
Lighting Designer Rory Beaton
Choreographer Tim Claydon

Manon Lescaut Elizabeth Llewellyn
Lescaut Paul Carey Jones
Des Grieux Peter Auty
Geronte de Ravoir Stephen Richardson
Edmondo Stephen Aviss/John Wood
Musician Ellie Edmonds


Un ballo in maschera by Giuseppe Verdi
New production by Opera Holland Park, with the City of London Sinfonia and the Opera Holland Park Chorus
8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 19, 21, 25, 27, 29 June

Another alumnus of the 2017 La rondine cast, Matteo Lippi, makes his return to OHP as Gustavo in Verdi’s Un ballo in maschera, following a number of star roles across Italy and internationally. He is joined by Anne Sophie Duprels, who will sing the role of Gustavo’s lover, Amelia, and doyenne of the opera world Rosalind Plowright OBE as Madame Arvidson.

Un ballo in maschera reunites the team behind OHP’s widely praised 2018 production of La traviata – director Rodula Gaitanou, conductor Matthew Kofi Waldren, and movement director Steve Elias. The Young Artists performance will be conducted by Sonia Ben-Santa and directed by Rachael Hewer, with casting to follow soon.

Conductor Matthew Kofi Waldren
Director Rodula Gaitanou
Designer takis
Movement Director Steve Elias

Gustavo Matteo Lippi
Amelia Anne Sophie Duprels
Anckarström George von Bergen
Oscar Alison Langer
Madame Arvidson Rosalind Plowright OBE
Ribbing Eddie Wade  
Horn John Savournin
Cristiano Ross Ramgobin

Young Artists’ Performance on 28 June, conducted by Sonia Ben-Santamaria and directed by Rachael Hewer. Full cast to be announced soon.


L’arlesiana by Francesco Cilea
New production by Opera Holland Park, with the City of London Sinfonia
20, 25, 27, 31 July, 2 August 2019

The third production of Cilea’s L’arlesiana at OHP in 20 years reunites the team behind the 2018 production of Così fan tutte, with Dane Lam conducting, Oliver Platt directing, Alyson Cummins providing the designs and Rory Beaton (Knight of Illumination nominee for Così fan tutte) designing the lighting. Rory Beaton will also provide lighting designs for Manon Lescaut this year.

The cast for L’arlesiana includes recently elected Royal Academy of Music Associate Fflur Wyn as Vivetta and international favourite Yvonne Howard as Rosa Mamai.

Conductor Dane Lam
Director Oliver Platt
Designer Alyson Cummins
Lighting Designer Rory Beaton

Vivetta Fflur Wyn
Rosa Mamai Yvonne Howard
L’Innocente Samantha Price
Marco James Cleverton
Baldassare Keel Watson
Metifio Simon Wilding


Double Bill: Il segreto di Susanna by Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari (New production by Opera Holland Park, with the City of London Sinfonia) with Iolanta by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (new production by Opera Holland Park, with the City of London Sinfonia and the Opera Holland Park Chorus)
22, 24, 26, 30 July, 1, 3 August 2019

To close the 2019 Season is our double bill of Wolf-Ferrari’s comedy Il segreto di Susanna and Tchaikovsky’s fairy-tale Iolanta. Clare Presland and Richard Burkhard appear as the lead couple in Il segreto di Susanna, with the brilliant John Savournin playing the silent role of Sante. John Andrews conducts and 2015 Young Artists alumnus John Wilkie directs.
Iolanta features an all-star cast, including acclaimed international soprano Natalya Romaniw in the title role and David Butt Philip as Vaudémont. Sian Edwards conducts and Olivia Fuchs directs. Internationally renowned designer takis will provide designs for both halves of the double bill.

Il segreto di Susanna

Conductor John Andrews
Director John Wilkie
Designer takis

Countess Susanna Clare Presland
Count Gil Richard Burkhard
Sante John Savournin


Conductor Sian Edwards
Director Olivia Fuchs
Designer takis

Iolanta Natalya Romaniw
Count Vaudemont David Butt Philip
René Mikhail Svetlov
Robert Grant Doyle
Ibn-Hakia Ashley Riches
Bertrand Barnaby Rea
Marta Laura Woods
Brigitta Julia Hamon
Laura Helen Brackenbury